Finished this book: Dead as a Doornail (by Charlaine Harris)

Another book picked up at random from one of the many bookshelves in the house where I’m vacationing. I was looking for something light (since the last book I read was The Orenda). This was a super quick read and exactly what I was looking for in terms of entertainment. It’s the middle of a series, so I didn’t have a lot of the background story, but Harris seems to make each book in the series a standalone piece in an ongoing story. (Last night I started another random book in the same series, so I do have more than one sample upon which to base this claim! No review forthcoming of the other one, since I’m flying back home soon and probably won’t finish it before I go…)

The cover says the HBO True Blood series is based on these books. Never seen it, but I can see how it would work. The characters are quirky and distinctive, and the protagonist (Sookie Stackhouse) is very likeable.

The story contains supernatural creatures (vampires, werewolves, etc.) which is tricky to do. The author has to make me want to suspend my disbelief without making me feel I have to take some Stupid Pills to do so. Harris does a lovely job of putting together a story that carried me along and entertained me without making me do any work–which is exactly what I wanted when I picked it up.

ISBN 978-0-441-01333-3

What do you think about this?

