Skratch Bastid, Mama Cutsworth, and mosquitoes

Last night, Skratch Bastid’s BBQ came to Winnipeg. It was on from 1500h to 2300h in the parking lot of Union Sound Hall, and I really wanted to go. But for most of the day, it was too damned hot to dance, and sitting around drinking with strangers isn’t really my thing. So after careful consideration of information found on Facebook and Instagram (and of my pathetic budget), I decided to “steal” the Skratch Bastid show and then head over to the Cube to see Mama Cutsworth.

By 2130h, the temperature was still 27C, but I got dressed up (minimally). I planned to find a parking spot halfway between the two venues, and lucked out on McDermot just east of Portage. When I go out by myself at night, I can sometimes spend a ludicrous amount of time looking for a parking spot that feels safe!

Skratch Bastid was all I had hoped. I sat outside the fence (because this close to the end of the month, I can’t justify spending $20 to hear someone play for half an hour, no matter how awesome they are). So I felt like a bit of a loser, since obviously there was no reason for me to be sitting there except for the show, and I still have that embarrassment about not having as much money as everyone around me seems to have… But anyway, it was totally worth it!

The mosquitoes were out in full force: I was bitten at least two dozen times. There I sat on a concrete planter, cell phone in hand (to try to look busy), smacking myself randomly with my other hand, tapping my feet and nodding my head and just generally being totally amazed by Skratch Bastid’s skills. I saw him once before, briefly, this past May when he was in town to do a Red Bull Thre3style workshop at the Good Will Social Club. I’d seen some videos of him and been blown away by what he was doing, but in real life it was even more impressive. I couldn’t even follow what was going on!

Anyway, when he was done, I walked to the Cube with a little detour to my car to drink deeply from my water bottle. The Exchange was hopping! All the patios were full of people and music, and there were pedestrians everywhere. A gorgeous summer night at the end of the Fringe Fest!

Mama Cutsworth didn’t start right at 11, so I caught her whole show. Just as it started and I was moving toward the dance “floor,” a sister DJ caught up to me and so we went out there and danced together. I love Mama Cutsworth’s shows, not just because her choice of music and her stage presence and her skills, but also because she is my teacher, and so seeing her in action is like a demonstration of the classes I had with her. At one point, she did some wild mix of Gloria Estevan’s Conga and a Michael Jackson song (I am not sure what it’s called… for someone who is starting to DJ, I am pretty ignorant of music other than my chosen style—working on it!). My sister DJ and I kept grinning at each other with the pure joy of it, how the two songs played alongside each other and Mama Cutsworth cut them in and out of each other, and she had a look on her face that I recognised—the happy satisfaction you get when it comes together perfectly. I was so pleased to see that expression on her face! I get it now with my little successes, but seeing how much she loves the DJing shows that the fun remains no matter how good you get at it.

The crowd was happy. It was a hot night, and I was sweating profusely, and I was covered in bug bites, and I had a fantastic time.

Mama Cutsworth’s web site.

Skratch Bastid’s web site.

 

17 thoughts on “Skratch Bastid, Mama Cutsworth, and mosquitoes

  1. GigTog

    Ahhhh…another thing we have in common…music! You a Dj, and me, well, a retired gig photographer. I’m glad you had a good time, bites and all!
    Dori 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. GigTog

        Lol! You got it! 😉

        Atta girl! I think that’s GREAT! Enjoy your journey, and of course, the MUSIC!

        Meh…I’m considering growing out my grey. I wish it wasn’t such a process! Good on you for rockin’ yours!
        ~Dori

        Like

        Reply
        1. nissetje Post author

          I started going grey when I was seventeen and I never bothered doing anything about it until last December when I threw some purple in it. Now I’m hooked on purple hair! The purple and grey streaks look great, IMHO. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
              1. nissetje Post author

                Thanks. I am so thrilled with it. When people comment on it, I forget myself and instead of thanking them, I’m all “I know, right? Isn’t it fabulous???” Haha!

                Liked by 1 person

  2. honestme363

    Reblogged this on honestme363 and commented:
    I just want to to give thanks to anybody and everybody who puts music on their posts. Without your influence, I would be stuck, just listening to the radio. ☺ My Tuney Tuesdays were actually inspired by this post here. Enjoy ☺

    Like

    Reply

What do you think about this?

