Staycation Day 4: I Hid the Lists and Did What I Wanted

There’s not much to add, really. I cleared all my papers and lists off the kitchen table, and then spent a few hours doing this:

Watercolour pencil doodles part 1

Watercolour pencil doodles part 1

It’s been months since I last played around with the watercolour pencils. Not since last winter, I think. I used the notebooks as a way to warm up a bit, and then I did the heart above on a postcard to send to a friend whose birthday is coming up. Then some more notebook doodling, and the heart below (not finished yet in the picture) for my cousin’s upcoming wedding.

Watercolour pencil doodles part 2

Watercolour pencil doodles part 2

Also, I was approached about maybe DJing a rave-themed wedding, which is about a 90% perfect fit with my DJ style and music collection. I hope it works out, although I bet they’ll have second thoughts when they think about their poor grandparents!

Tonight is studio time at the Forum Art Centre where R. and I take an acrylic class taught by David Cooper on Thursday nights. This is the fifth (I think) time we take it together. The class fee includes studio time on Tuesday evenings. So I am considering heading down there for that, although if I take advantage of the cleared-off kitchen table, I could do “studio night” here at home, and not even have to put my bra back on!

All in all, hiding the lists and choosing to just play today was the best idea I’ve had in a while. I even got a couple of errands done and took the dogs along in the car to pick up the winter tires. A lovely day! It’s amazing how much better I feel if I’ve made something. Writing, weaving, drawing, painting, anything. It doesn’t have to be good; it just has to be made.

14 thoughts on “Staycation Day 4: I Hid the Lists and Did What I Wanted

    1. nissetje Post author

      No bird-related dancing of any kind!!!!! Also no polkas! Well, I guess I’d play whatever they wanted but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. 🙂 And thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. izabolinha

    So glad you had a good “doing” day 🙂
    Do you mind explaining what are watercolor pencils ? are they softer and you have to wet them ? or you just wet the paper you are drawing into ? Thank you
    Turtle Hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Watercolour pencils can be used dry (then they act like pencil crayons), or used dry on wet paper, or you dip them in water and use them on dry or wet paper. If both the paper and the pencils are wet, the pigments spreads more quickly and easily. Sometimes after I draw a line, I use a dry paintbrush to pull the water and pigment around a bit. They’re lots of fun!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. izabolinha

        Thank you for the thorough explanation! I know nothing about painting, and I can’t draw , but I like color – a lot – and I like doodling children s coloring books , and I Need to engage in some sort of creative outlet and have been playing with the idea of engaging in some watercoloring and “doodlewashing”:)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Pingback: Barking Back

What do you think about this?

