The Brindle Dog Goes for a Checkup

The Brindle Dog at the Vet

The Brindle Dog at the Vet: Holy “Tongue Out Tuesday,” Batman!

The Brindle Dog went to the vet for her annual checkup this evening. She was pretty sick in the spring, and I always worry about her. She’ll be twelve years old in a couple of weeks, and I am trying to enjoy every day with her while also preparing myself for the end. But she’s not dead yet, and part of continued life means regular vet visits. So this evening I lifted her into the car and we headed over to visit Dr. Beggs at St. Vital Veterinary Hospital for her annual checkup.

The news is good. I mean, she’s old and getting older, and every bit of her is aging. Her eyes are worsening and she’s got a cataract. Her hearing is going. Her sense of smell isn’t what it used to be. She’s starting to lose muscle tone. She’s full of lumps and bumps and warts and cysts and lipomas. Her teeth are wearing down to stumps (although all the chewing keeps them remarkably clean). Her stamina isn’t what it used to be.

But aside from all those normal things, she’s doing well. Her heart is strong; she’s still engaged with the world and interested in people and treats and tricks. She races around the yard chasing sticks and harassing the Fluffy Dog. She’s still pretty flexible and agile for an oldster. And although she is more anxious than she used to be (in ways that seem pretty clearly connected to the vision and hearing issues), she is basically a happy, interactive, curious, loving old dog who is always ready to go on the next adventure.

Her glucosamine ran out a while back and I can see that her mobility is affected (jumping into the car is not always successful anymore, hence the lifting, which she detests). So I’m going to restart her on that. And the Fluffy Dog will start on it as well, since his recent x-rays showed that his left hip isn’t as perfect as one would like.

All in all, a satisfactory visit. Dr. Beggs and Iris the vet tech spoiled the Brindle Dog with pets and treats, and they took all the time I needed to answer my questions and listen to what I wanted to tell them about my good old girl.

See in the picture how her tongue kind of hangs out to the left? Her left lower canine was removed after she snapped it in an excess of enthusiasm (story in this blog post). You can see in the picture that even her paws are going grey. Is that adorable or what?

I know I say this about every dog I’ve ever had, but this old Brindle Dog is seriously the best dog ever.

___

Edit (Nov 18 2015, early morning): I forgot to mention that she has also gained back seven pounds since she was so sick in the spring! Yay!

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “The Brindle Dog Goes for a Checkup

  1. izabolinha

    Lucky girl to have you , and lucky you to have found a vet clinic where -“they took all the time I needed to answer my questions and listen to what I wanted to tell them about my good old girl”.
    May I suggest that besides the glucosamine you might want to investigate the benefit of good old bone broth (don’t give them the cooked bones though!) for their joints ? Mind you , I’m no vet , no doctor, no health practitioner but there is a lot of talk on bone broth helping arthritic people. 😉
    Turtle Hugs 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Thanks, Turtle-friend! I do feed them raw meat and bones, and I think they get a lot of benefit from that… But toward the end of her life, my last old dog did better on cooked meat and broths. Maybe my old Brindle Girl is getting to that point as well. Thanks for reminding me of that!

      PS – I am lucky to have her as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. izabolinha

        Oh good! if they are on a meat and bones diet you are already giving them the best…And yes we are so lucky to have them 🙂
        Hugs to you and also to Brindle Girl

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. La Quemada

    I am ga-ga silly crazy about dogs. And every dog we have, I say, oh my gosh I love this dog the most of any ever! So I know what you mean. I’m also a person who pretty much has not cried for 17 years except 1) when her son went off to college and 2) when she had to put down a beloved dog. Enjoy Brindle Dog just as long as you reasonably can. She is lovely. We are so lucky to have the beautiful souls of dogs in our lives!
    (We currently have a Lab/Rottie mix and a brindle Staffordshire bull terrier. Have also had two other black lab mixes (I think one with Australian shepard and one with a bear, honestly) as well as a gigantic Malamute.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. nissetje Post author

        Wow, that’s a very respectable age for a Malamute! I worry a lot about the winters here when my dogs get old. The harsh weather is really rough on them. I think this will be the year that the Brindle Dog has to learn to wear booties and a coat. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Oh, you’ve had some lovely big dogs (the bear mix made me laugh!). I love a big huggable dog! Shepherds are my fave, although a good friend of mine just rescued a tiny white fluffy dog and I am already madly in love with her as well. Because dogs, right? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      By the way, when I click on you in my notifications, it takes me to an old site that you’ve deleted…? But when I click on your posts in my reader, I get to your site no problem. Just FYI.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Two Dogs Humping (on me) | Barking Back

What do you think about this?

