Finished this book: How Stella Got Her Groove Back by Terry McMillan

Cover of How Stella Got Her Groove Back by Terry McMillan

Cover of How Stella Got Her Groove Back by Terry McMillan

Warning: Full of spoilers.

This is an entertaining “beach book”—a quick and undemanding read. It was a fun look at a boy-May / girl-December relationship, although it was somewhat marred for me by the countless times Stella let her defensiveness and insecurities run wild. “Oh god, he didn’t come to the phone right away, well to hell with him, I knew he wasn’t really interested. “Shit, I still don’t have a letter from him, well screw him, I knew this was just a fling for him.” “He’s a few minutes late for our date, well goddammit, I guess he found someone his own age, what would he want with an old lady like me anyway.” And so on and so forth ad nauseam.

On the other hand, it’s nice light reading, and it was a pleasure to read a book where none of the protagonists were white. I liked the pieces about Stella’s relationships with her sisters, and how she parents her son. Stories where the main character has no money worries are always kind of fascinating to me, in a “wow, I wonder if that’s what I would do if I wasn’t always so broke” kind of way. It was good to see how Stella eventually decided to return to making her art, although it would have been interesting to hear more about that and rather less about the detailed lists of items she bought on her shopping sprees.

A nice light book, although it is sad to me that Stella’s groove came back because of the man; I would have liked to see her art be the groove-maker. Although it is entirely possible that I am misunderstanding the concept of groove.

Apparently this book has been made into a movie and I am the last North American who hasn’t seen it yet.

How Stella Got Her Groove Back by Terry McMillan. 1996. ISBN 9780140259627.

 

What do you think about this?

