Weekly Pet Peeve: People Talking Through the Show

This week’s pet peeve is piggybacking on For the Love of God—Make It Stop, about a person talking in a movie theatre during the movie. This is a huge peeve of mine. Not just in movie theatres but also at home. Not just during movies, but also during TV shows. Or even YouTube videos. Or when I am on the phone, and someone in the room is talking during my phone call because they have something to add or to pass on to the person on the other end.

JUST SHUT UUUUUUUUPPPPP!!!!!!!!!

OBVIOUSLY I am paying attention to The Thing. Either pause The Thing, or wait for The Thing to be over. And if The Thing is something you’re trying to share with me, please don’t abuse my patience and wreck my enjoyment with “okay, here, wait, here it comes, wait, yeaaaah!!!” and hysterical laughter even before the funny part.

Also, if we’re watching a movie together that you’ve seen before, ffs do NOT speak along with the dialogue. Especially do not say the lines right before they happen! And honestly, seriously, don’t watch my face the whole time to make sure I am laughing at the funny parts or otherwise responding immediately and obviously the way you think I should.

In general, I really prefer to experience media by myself. People can be so annoying. Don’t they know they’re causing me to miss plot development? That information is there for a reason! I need it!

The dogs can be annoying, too, if a movie doorbell rings. But somehow, watching the Brindle Dog barking wildly at the TV with a shocked and betrayed look on her face (through what interdimensional fuck-up did a doorbell appear in the living room???) is far more entertaining than biting my tongue (and sitting on my fists) when dude in front of me at the theatre is muttering into a cell phone.

 

7 thoughts on “Weekly Pet Peeve: People Talking Through the Show

  1. Blair (The Shameful Sheep)

    Haha. I HATE when people stare at you waiting to see your reaction to things. My Mother-in-law always looks at me to see my reaction to funny things. I don’t know why. All I can think about is her staring at me from across the room. Creeeepy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Yeah, I’ve worked hard to develop a stony face when I’m watching things in company. I don’t like to give people the satisfaction. πŸ™‚ The downside is that if I do actually crack a smile—or, Dog forbid, laugh out loud—people are all “Look! It made her laugh!” People and their peopleness, man. I can’t even.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  2. La Quemada

    At least at home I can stop the show (usually watching on Netflix) or comfortably tell my family, “I’m listening to this, can you wait a minute?” But I hate it when on the rare occasions I go see something at the movie theater, people talk through the whole movie and make a lot of noise with whatever they are eating and otherwise distract me from what is going on in the movie. It’s strange to me too that people are not more self-aware of the impact they are having on others around them, since I feel hyper aware of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Yes! I am also so aware of trying not to bother people or do things that would impinge on them. It seems like, as you said, a lack of self-awareness, or maybe of entitlement, depending on the person. Oh well, I guess people like that give me an opportunity to practice my anger management skills. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

What do you think about this?

