Stuff I Did in January

February is finally over. I did nothing creative in February at all. After I was rear-ended in January, I stopped weaving (because my back hurt). And when the February dumps hit me, I even stopped doodling, which is a disaster for me, because a doodle a day keeps the crazy away.

I was going through some of my pictures from January to try to get inspired for March, and I found a couple of reminders that yes, I do indeed do things.

Near the beginning of January, I was at the venue where I drew my first mural so here’s an update:

People are commenting on my mural.

People are commenting on my mural.

As you can see, people have made a few comments. In other places (not shown here), people have added some scribbles and doodles of their own. If you can’t read those comments, the darker ink says “I just have 2 say… goergeous!” (the bad spelling in no way diminishes the compliment!) and the lighter ink says “I just have to say.. how long was that shit?” (Which, since the mural is in a public bathroom, is a comment I was expecting!).

Then I found a bunch of pictures of my miniature doodles:

Mini doodle. About 5 cm by 7.5 cm (2" by 3").

Mini doodle. About 5 cm by 8 cm (2″ by 3″).

I do these doodles constantly, in any of a dozen sketchbooks of various sizes, or on post-it notes when I’m on hold at work.

And the other thing I did a lot in January (before the car accident) was weaving. I didn’t take many pictures but here are two of the pieces I worked on:

The working surface (under / back side) of a wall hanging.

The working surface (under / back side) of a wall hanging.

The front of a wall hanging.

The front of a wall hanging.

So while I am not actually feeling inspired yet, I am certainly reminded that I feel much better when I work on these things. Sometimes it’s a matter of doing it even when I’m not inspired, and as I work, I begin to feel better, and then I get into the flow or the zone or the timeless place where the work just happens and I am not separate from it. My task this month is to get back on track.

 

10 thoughts on “Stuff I Did in January

  1. honestme363

    That was pretty nice of them not to deface your mural by adding it above and making arrows. And I know what you mean, I always feel better doing something. Sometimes, if I get away from it for too long, it is easy to ignore it. But once I start up again, it is easy to get back into it and I realize how much I need to do it, if only for my own personal sanity.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Some people did scribble more on the mural itself, but it had more of a “joining in” feel than a “defacing” feel.

      I’m in the “easy to ignore it” phase but hoping to work myself up to an incredible amounts of creativity” phase. 🙂 Because personal sanity is very important!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Lula Harp

    I love your doodle a day keeps the crazies at bay! So true. It is hard to feel creative when we are out of sorts, but good for you for self motivating and getting back into it.

    Your weaving is gorgeous too

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Thank you. 🙂 It’s hard to get back into it, but it’s very motivating to remind myself how much better I’ll feel when I’m back in the swing of things.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Oh, I’ll get multiples! When I got this loom, it already had a warp on it, so I am just messing around. I already have five “wall hangings” of about half a metre. Looking forward to cutting them off the loom and seeing how they turned out! Do you also make stuff?

      Like

      Reply
    1. nissetje Post author

      Oooh fun! I love textile stuff but I kind of suck at it. Never stops me, though. 🙂 Thanks for your answer. I love hearing what others are up to!

      Like

      Reply

What do you think about this?

